Skip to product information
1 of 0

The Four Dignities

The Spiritual Practice of Walking, Standing, Sitting, and Lying Down
Regular price $26.95
Regular price Sale price $26.95
Offering a fresh perspective on immediate presence and embodied spiritual practice, The Four Dignities shows how the mindful cultivation of the four essential postures – walking, standing, sitting, and lying down – are the basis for a formal practice to develop greater vitality and spiritual awakening. The author reveals the subtle inner nuances of the four traditional meditations, and shows how they can be practiced as a unified system. Readers are given a profound understanding of correct posture, alignment, breathing, and attention, and the author explains the philosophical basis for the practice, offering a pathway toward realizing profound spiritual and energetic transformation.

This accessible yet profound study will be an invaluable resource for students and practitioners of yoga, taiji, qigong, and meditation, as well as spiritual seekers, and anyone interested in Eastern philosophy or the study of movement.
  • Published: Sep 21 2014
  • Pages: 224
  • 229 x 153mm
  • ISBN: 9781848192164
View full details

Press Reviews

  • Master Zhongxian Wu, lifelong Daoist practitioner and author of 12 books (5 in Chinese) on Chinese wisdom traditions

    In China, we have a saying that we commonly apply to our inner cultivation practice: ZhanZuoXingWoBuLiZheGe ????????, which means never leave from "This" whenever you are standing, sitting, walking, or reclining. What is "This" and how do we stay with "This"? In Cain Carroll's The Four Dignities, you will find the answers!
  • Gordon Faulkner, Principal Instructor, Chanquanshu School of Daoist Arts and author of Managing Stress with Qigong

    Cain Carroll has produced a must-have book that is essential reading for any self-respecting person on the path of self-cultivation. A wonderful collection of wisdom from diverse traditions that serves to illuminate the simple universal truths at their heart. This book needs to be with you standing, walking, sitting or lying down.
  • Damo Mitchell, author of Daoist Nei Gong and Heavenly Streams

    The four dignities form the basis of all Eastern wisdom traditions and this book provides a comprehensive overview of the nature of sitting, standing, walking and lying down in the internal arts. As well as this are a host of other useful sections on the nature of mind/consciousness and the path of internal cultivation. This is a great book for those engaged in any form of spiritual training.